Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Rugby League Through The Decades

All the players,key events and statistics-everything that's happened in the game since 1907

by Ian Collis & Alan Whiticker

Page Extent:560 pages
Book Size:280 x 225 mm (Height x Width x Depth)

Quick Overview

Availability: In stock


Since the arrival of the New Zealand ‘All Golds’ who introduced the game to Australian shores in 1907, rugby league has had a colourful and controversial history. Rugby League Through the Decades is a celebration of each decade in that history; showcasing champion players, countless matches and suburban football clubs, many now gone forever. Including hundreds of images, many never before published; rare memorabilia, season records and international details, this books packs 110 years of sporting history into its 560 pages.

Written in the style of ‘unfolding history’ to give the reader a sense of ‘being there’ at each historic moment in the game’s evolution, the different era's of the game are reflected in the language and fashions of the times, and wonderfully portray the drama and emotion of the ‘greatest game of all!’

About the Authors

Ian Collis

Ian Collis is a well known rugby league historian - he has one of the largest collections of sporting memorabilia in Australia. His passion for rugby league comes from his father Joseph, who was a pioneer of the North Ryde Junior Rugby League Club in the Balmain Junior League and a former Club president before playing a role in the formation of the Ryde United JRL Club. Ian is currently the Head of Fox Sports Statistics.

Alan Whiticker

Alan James Whiticker is an Australian non-fiction author and publisher, with over 30 published books on history, sport, biography, true crime and lifestyle

Memory usage: real: 8388608, emalloc: 8167216
Code ProfilerTimeCntEmallocRealMem