The Ascent of Everest

Box Set

More Information
By Ross Fitzgerald and Ian McFadyen
Format Paperback / softback
Book Size 234 x 156 x 1400 mm (H x W x D)
Imprint Hybrid Publishing
Release Date 8 Apr 2024
Subject Classification Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Of the nine novels featuring Grafton Everest, four have been written by Ross Fitzgerald in collaboration with Ian McFadyen: Going Out Backwards, The Dizzying Heights, The Lowest Depths and Pandemonium. This unique series of four satirical novels charts the rise of the insecure and self-indulgent university lecturer – Doctor Professor Grafton Everest – from the corridors of a provincial Australian campus to the international corridors of power. How did this hapless, work-shy anti-hero repeatedly save his country and the world without intending to? And who were the mysterious persons that orchestrated his inexplicable rise from obscurity to world leadership? The Ascent of Everest is an epic satire that mocks, without mercy, politics, academia, media, culture and sex.

Ross Fitzgerald

Ross Fitzgerald AM is Emeritus Professor of History & Politics at Griffith University. He is the author or co-author of forty-five books, including a memoir Fifty Years Sober: An Alcoholic’s Journey. He lives in Redfern, Sydney.

Ian McFadyen

Ian McFadyen is a multi-award winning writer, actor and television producer who has created a number of successful television series, books and plays. He has collaborated with Ross Fitzgerald to write the previous Grafton Everest novels, 'Going Out Backwards', 'The Dizzying Heights', and 'The Lowest Depths'. He lives in Queensland.