What Shrub is That?

What Shrub is That?

Macoboy's Roses


Please check with your local bookstore for availability.

More Information
By Stirling Macoboy
Format Hardback
Page Extent 488
Book Size 36 x 208 x 270 mm (H x W x D)
Imprint New Holland Publishers
Release Date 1 Oct 2016
Subject Classification Gardening / Gardening: plants / Gardening: flowers

At the heart of this modern-day classic is a gallery of some 1500 roses, which are grouped by type in four sections: Wild Roses, Old Garden Roses, Modern Roses, and Miniatures and Mini-flora. Every rose is illustrated. The entry for each rose describes its appearance and gives brief details of its origin and history, where appropriate, together with any special growing requirements.

Additional information covers classification, colour class, alternative names, breeder, parentage, time of flowering, fragrance, habit, hardiness zones, and awards. Further sections cover the cultivation of roses, roses for special purposes, great rose gardens of the world, and famous rose breeders. There are also fifteen feature pieces on topics of more general interest, including the rose in poetry, David Austin’s English Roses, the rose in legend, the ‘Peace’ rose, the allure of the red rose, and the world’s favourite roses.

Written by renowned author/photographer Stirling Macoboy, this much-loved book was extensively revised and updated in 2007 by Tommy Cairns, winning the WFRS Literary Award in 2012.

Stirling Macoboy

Stirling Macoboy is both author and photographer. Stirling has become Australia's bestselling author of gardening books, as well as being gardening editor or contributor of various magazines - Better Homes and Gardens, Family Circle, Australian House and Garden, Woman's Day and Women's Weekly.